Skip to main content

Why did my payment or payout history disappear, and why do I have a new Stripe account?

Short answer: Your history isn't lost. Stripe created a separate sub-account for the app, and your payments are there. Switch to it from the account name at the top left of your Stripe Dashboard.

Stripe introduced a privacy upgrade which limits you from connecting the same Stripe account to multiple Platforms (like Shopify and the Payment app). [0] Therefore, a new "sub-account" was created from your "main account", which has the exact same information. [1]

This change caught a lot of people by surprise. The most common issues we see:

  • Users not aware that any new accounts had been created
  • Not seeing your products when you believe you have added them
  • Payments not showing up in the expected account
  • Not being able to connect to a card reader you thought you had set up

There are some benefits to the change by Stripe including:

  • Your privacy is enhanced. With separate accounts, the varying Stripe Platforms can only see the activity created with their Platform (and not your entire Stripe history).
  • You can access this sub-account at any time, directly from your Stripe Dashboard. Click your company name/logo in the upper left corner to toggle to the other account.
  • Your payments are not lost, they're just going to the "sub-account", with the exact same banking information as your "main account"

[0] https://stripe.com/docs/connect/oauth-changes-for-standard-platforms
[1] https://stripe.com/docs/multiple-accounts

Was this article helpful?
8 out of 17 found this helpful