Short answer: Your history isn't lost. Stripe created a separate sub-account for the app, and your payments are there. Switch to it from the account name at the top left of your Stripe Dashboard.
Stripe introduced a privacy upgrade which limits you from connecting the same Stripe account to multiple Platforms (like Shopify and the Payment app). [0] Therefore, a new "sub-account" was created from your "main account", which has the exact same information. [1]
This change caught a lot of people by surprise. The most common issues we see:
- Users not aware that any new accounts had been created
- Not seeing your products when you believe you have added them
- Payments not showing up in the expected account
- Not being able to connect to a card reader you thought you had set up
There are some benefits to the change by Stripe including:
- Your privacy is enhanced. With separate accounts, the varying Stripe Platforms can only see the activity created with their Platform (and not your entire Stripe history).
- You can access this sub-account at any time, directly from your Stripe Dashboard. Click your company name/logo in the upper left corner to toggle to the other account.
- Your payments are not lost, they're just going to the "sub-account", with the exact same banking information as your "main account"
[0] https://stripe.com/docs/connect/oauth-changes-for-standard-platforms
[1] https://stripe.com/docs/multiple-accounts